Board of Directors 2017

The Library Foundation of Martin County Welcomes New Board Members

Executive Director Dennis Fruitt, board members Joan
Amerling, Pat Ditmars, Leigh Garry, Magalen Webert,
and President Noreen Fisher.

Board president Noreen Fisher thanked Stephen Fry for his  many years of service on the board of directors.  Jennifer Salas, Martin County Library Director and Stacy Ranieri, board member. 

Board member Lois McGuire, author of Don’t be that KID! children’s book, with Priscilla Baldwin, past president. Vice President Christine DelVecchio, board member Lois McGuire and President Noreen Fisher Nancy Balow, Foundation Program Assistant Maryann Atkins and Lois McGuire, board member.



            Five new board members were elected to The Library Foundation of Martin County, Inc. at its annual meeting held at the Blake Library in Stuart on November 17.   The new directors are Joan Amerling, Patricia Ditmars, Leigh Garry, Jo Gressette and Magalen Webert.

            Noreen Fisher, president of the board of directors, commented that, “We are very excited to add these talented women to our board and look forward to working with each of them to continue the mission of the Foundation as we enter our 25th year of service.”

            Joan Amerling’s professional career has included journalism, television broadcasting and non-profit management. Patricia Ditmars has been active in libraries throughout her career. She was also the principal of her own architecture firm specializing in residential, medical and historical restoration.  Leigh M. Garry, an active Dartmouth College alumnae, has enjoyed a career in banking as well as leadership participation with educational institutions. Jo Gressette’s professional life has included an impressive range of positions in the field of education on a federal, state and local level.  Magalen “Widget” Webert worked in banking and is a director of the Carlisle Companies, Inc.

            The slate of officers for the 2016-2017 were also elected at the meeting. The officers are: Noreen Fisher, president; Christine DelVecchio, vice president; Charles Cleaver, treasurer; and Scott Konopka, secretary. Board members include John P. Bracken, Michael DiTerlizzi, Denise Ehrich, William J. Gilcher, Lois McGuire, Alishia Parenteau, Xenobia Poitier-Anderson, Stacy Ranieri and Devin M. Teal.

            Noreen Fisher warmly thanked Stephen Fry for his many years of service on the board as his term ended.

            Founded in 1992, the mission of the Library Foundation of Martin County is to acquire and administer funds to enrich library services and facilities not met by public funding and to endow the library system for future generations.

            Upcoming events this 25th anniversary season include the annual Kiplinger Literacy Award Luncheon on January 23 at Harbour Ridge that will honor Leo Clancy for his contributions to the advancement of literacy. Knight Kiplinger, Editor in Chief of Kiplinger Publications, is the keynote speaker.

           BookMania! will be held on March 4, from 9 a.m. to 2:30 p.m., at Jensen Beach High School. The Library Foundation of Martin County, Inc. invites the whole community to this free day of presentations, panel discussions and book signings. A Literary Affair, on the evening of March 3, is a special fundraiser that will be held at the Blake Library to welcome the BookMania! authors with a cocktail and dinner party.

            For more information about any of these events please visit our website at www.libraryfoundationmc.org or contact the office at 772-221-1409.

Visit us on Facebook

Library Foundation of Martin County, Inc.
2351 SE Monterey Road
Stuart, FL 34996

Office: 772-221-1409
Fax: 772-221-1478

501(c)(3) TAX ID 65-0315112
Powered By PDgo

Home Please Donate